Socializing Data Value: How Can Data Governance Meet the Challenge?

Socializing Data Value: How Can Data Governance Meet the Challenge?
Event start date
Event end date
Event venue
Webinar
Organiser details

IT for Change with support from FES

IT for Change is hosting the strategy roundtable 'Socializing Data Value: How Can Data Governance Meet the Challenge?' on May 11-12, with support from Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (FES).

The two-day roundtable will bring together a small group of scholars, scholar-activists, and practitioners to explore the elements of an institutional governance framework for data that can democratize value creation and distribution. By building on participant reflections, we hope this roundtable will contribute to cutting edge discussions in the domain.

Engage with our report, 'Socializing Data Value: Reflections on the State of Play', that covers the highlights of the roundtable.


Click here for the event concept note.

Click here for the event agenda PDF.

Click here for the event resource pack.


Agenda: May 11, 2021
6.00 – 8.30 PM IST / 2.30 – 5.00 PM CET

Time Session Remarks
5.50-6.00 PM IST
2.20-2.30 PM CET
Check-in Meeting room will open 10 minutes ahead of the scheduled start. Please login at least five minutes early, especially if you are unfamiliar with the BBB platform.
6.00-6.10 PM IST
2.30-2.40 PM CET
Introductory Remarks Context setting and housekeeping info by IT for Change team
Session 1
6.10-6.45 PM IST
2.40-3.15 PM CET

Inputs from
Bruno Carballa Smichowski

Researcher, Joint Research Centre of European Commission - Unit B6 - Digital Economy

Anita Gurumurthy and Nandini Chami
Executive Director and Deputy Director, IT for Change

Input: 8 minutes each
Open Discussion: 19 minutes
Session 2
6.45-7.20 PM IST
3.15-3.50 PM CET

Inputs from
Kristina Irion

Associate Professor, Central European University; and Marie Curie Fellow at Institute of Information Law, University of Amsterdam

Raymond Onuoha
Research Fellow, Lagos Business School, Nigeria; and Doctoral Student, Nelson Mandela School of Governance, University of Cape town, South Africa

Input: 8 minutes each
Open Discussion: 19 minutes
Session 3
7.20-7.55 PM IST
3.50-4.25 PM CET

Inputs from
Chee Yoke Ling

Executive Director, Third World Network

Barbara Prainsack
Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Vienna

Input: 8 minutes each
Open Discussion: 19 minutes
Session 4
7.55-8.30 PM IST
4.25-5.00 PM CET

Inputs from
Nadezhda Purtova

Associate Professor, Tilburg Law School, Tilburg University

Stacco Troncoso
P2P Commons Advocate and Organizer, Founder of DisCO and Gureillia Translation, Project Lead at Commons Transition

Input: 8 minutes each
Open Discussion: 19 minutes
  Wrap Up This will be a short 1 minute wrap-up.

 

Agenda: May 12, 2021
8.00 – 10.30 PM IST / 4.30 – 7.00 PM CET

Time Session Remarks
7.50-8.00 PM IST
4.20-4.30 PM CET
Check-in Meeting room will open 10 minutes ahead of the scheduled start. Please login at least five minutes early, especially if you are unfamiliar with the BBB platform.
8.00-8.02 PM IST
4.30-4.32 PM CET
Opening Remarks IT for Change team
Session 5
8.02-8.37 PM IST
4.32-5.07 PM CET

Inputs from
Ingrid Schneider

Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Hamburg

Salomé Viljoen
Affiliate, Berkman Klein Centre for Internet and Society, Harvard University

Input: 8 minutes each
Open Discussion: 19 minutes
Session 6
8.37-9.12 PM IST
5.07-5.42 PM CET

Inputs from
Marina Micheli

Researcher, Project DigiTranScope, Centre for Advanced Studies of the Joint Research Centre (Ispra, Italy)

Paul-Olivier Dehaye
Founder, PersonalData.IO

Input: 8 minutes each
Open Discussion: 19 minutes
Session 7
9.12-9.47 PM IST
5.42-6.17 PM CET

Inputs from
Arindrajit Basu

Research Lead, Centre for Internet and Society, India

Aaron Martin and Siddharth de Souza
Postdoctoral Researchers, Tilburg Law School

Input: 8 minutes each
Open Discussion: 19 minutes
Session 8
9.47-10.22 PM IST
6.17-6.52 PM CET

Inputs from
Stefaan Verhulst

Co-Founder and Chief Research and Development Officer, The Governance Laboratory at New York University

Cecilia Rikap
Tenure researcher at CONICET, Argentina’s National Research Council; Visiting professor of the IDHES, Université Paris Saclay

Input: 8 minutes each
Open Discussion: 19 minutes
10.22-10.30 PM IST
6.52-7.00 PM CET
Concluding Remarks Participants